Cat Head logo

Kip and Sara Kirkpatrick
Softball Stadium Project

Kip and Sara Kirkpatrick
Softball Stadium Project

The future home of Northwestern Softball will provide the program with a world-class home venue where Northwestern student-athletes will practice, train, and compete at the highest level. With your support, the championship tradition built by Sharon Drysdale, Kate Drohan, 247 letterwinners, and our passionate fan base will allow us to complete this incredible project. Our goal is to provide the 'Cats with a facility that matches their level of success on the field, in the classroom, and in the community.



Amount raised:

Get Involved

Please contact Matt Smith at 847-467-5289 or for more information.

History of

Northwestern Softball Facilities

Sharon J. Drysdale Field, home to Northwestern Softball since the early days of the legendary coach, was called Anderson Field when the program moved into the facility in 1979. Coach Drysdale took the helm in 1979 and spent the next 23 seasons leading the program until her retirement in 2001, after which the field was renamed in her honor. During that time, the program would see 14 winning seasons, five NCAA Tournament berths, and 3 Women's College World Series appearances. After the 2006 season, the ballpark underwent a three-year, multiple phase renovation. In March of 2024 after a lead gift from Kip and Sara Kirkpatrick, Northwestern Athletics announced a multimillion-dollar softball stadium project, which will add a dedicated locker room, team lounge, press box, and updated fan amenities.

Kate Drohan

Head Coach Kate Drohan

In fall 2023, Head Coach Kate Drohan signed a multiyear contract extension. Drohan has led Northwestern Softball since 2002 alongside her twin sister, Caryl, and is the program's all-time wins leader with 745 victories. The Wildcats are perennial B1G title contenders and have made 16 NCAA Tournament appearances during the Drohans' tenure, including eight in the past nine tournaments. Northwestern has advanced to the NCAA Super Regionals seven times under the Drohans and made three trips to the Women's College World Series—in 2006, when the team finished as the runner-up; in 2007; and in 2022.

We use cookies and other technologies.

We, along with our service providers and other third parties use cookies and other analytics, advertising, and tracking technologies on this site. Your information, including personal information and interactions with this site, may be monitored, recorded, or collected through these tools and further used or disclosed by us, our service providers and authorized third parties.

For more details, please visit our privacy policy.